U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-31-2013, 09:03 AM

5,220 posts, read 5,573,508 times

Advertisements

I'm a professional gay black male in his mid 40's looking to relocate to Dallas in 2 years to be closer to family also warmer climate and lower cost of living is nice too. I'm currently In Chicago's Hyde Park neighborhood. I'm also looking at St. Louis so if anyone has a comparison of all three I would love your input.

I do work from home so I'm open to all areas of the city. I am not looking to re create Chicago or any other city for that matter. If I'm living in Dallas I want to live in Dallas not Chicago. However, I must live in a walkable diverse neighborhood! No Suburbs!I enjoy organic grocery shopping (I know that's an odd hobby but it's my hobby please don't make fun) I love being around fitness oriented intellectuals. I love parks and progressive people.

For those who are familiar with St. Louis and Chicago I love areas like Hyde Park, South Loop and Edgewater in Chicago as well as Central West End and Tower Grove in St. Louis.

I will be renting for the first year until I identify a neighborhood good for me. Prefer a two bedroom apartment under 1500 but want as low as possible.

Once again I'm trying to get some ideas on where to start my search when visiting Dallas this summer. I had post several years back and this forum was very helpful at that time but my employer shipped me off to Chicago. This time the decision is more personal than business.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-31-2013, 11:04 AM