U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-08-2007, 10:54 AM

12 posts, read 37,044 times
Default Cost to modify floorplan, custom home builders

Sorry I'm a totally newbie.

Considering builders like Drees, Darling, David Weekley in DFW, if I want to modify floorplan, how much more I should expect will be charged? Or is it free because these builders are considered semi-custom?

The modifications I would like to have are:
  • Extended master bathroom. Looking that their floorplan on paper, most of them seems not large enough. I am thinking to have standalone bathtub, even have a TV. And I prefer everything not to be too crowded. For example, sitting bathtub side by side with the sink table turns me off. Same if shower room is less than one foot away from bathtub. If I want a Kohler standalone bathtub do I need to buy and install myself?
  • In Library/study room, have several big bookshelf with roller, maybe multi-layer design to conserve space. Because these type of bookshelf will be fixture, I prefer they to be done by builders instead of hiring someone else.

Why I want such a big bathroom? Well considering a busy working class, most of the time you spend in house is actually on the bed, or in bathroom. On the bed you are not awake so most of the time you're awake in home is in the bathroom. At least it's my lifestyle. So it should be most enjoyable place in a home in my opinion.
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-08-2007, 11:03 AM

4,027 posts, read 12,945,798 times