U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-07-2010, 09:31 PM

63 posts, read 213,350 times

Advertisements

Hey there! I have an interesting situation. I am currently living in my hometown, San Antonio. My husband, after having spent the last 2 years in Madrid, Spain, was transferred to the Dallas area this past week. I am a high school teacher, so will be moving up there in the summer. I am not familiar with the region at all so need some advice regarding commute.

My husband is an engineer working with Ferrovial/Cintra on the NTE ducks head Having spent the last couple of years in Madrid, he is now used to an urban environment and the suburbia I live in here in SA is NOT what he is looking for. His office is in Hurst, so closer to Arlington. Some of his colleagues have mentioned that the commute to Hurst is not bad from Uptown Dallas since most of the traffic is heading INTO the city as opposed to out. He has been focusing his apartment search in the downtown region because he also likes having proximity to shops and dining. Madrid had an excellent subway system, so he is very used to being on foot now, although he would obviously be driving to work. I am concerned that the traffic will be worse then he is being told. I guess, in a nutshell, he is looking for urban living with a 30 minute or so commute to work. He checked out some of the suburbs around DFW and still feels drawn to city life instead.

In your opinion, is living in Uptown feasible with working in Hurst? Would downtown Fort Worth be a better choice?

Thanks!