U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-30-2007, 03:28 PM

30 posts, read 122,544 times

Advertisements

Hello all,
I have a job opportunity in Dallas and maybe some opportunities in Houston. I am considering moving to Dallas and would like to hear from any African-Americans (AAs) that currently live in the DFW area as to life for AAs in the area, the dating scene, etc.

I am a professional AA woman in my early 30's coming from Cali, originally from Chicago. I love the cost of living in Texas am afraid of the tornados, but, at the end of the day, also have questions about the quality of life, the dating scene, etc. as I'd like to marry and settle down. What is the dating scene like for young AA women? Are the AA men into AA women or primarily into women of other races? I've heard that the ratio of single AA men to single AA women is about 8/9, which sounds great. Do you feel that this ratio is fairly accurate or is there a dearth of single, heterosexual AA men as in some other places? Is Dallas a place that is big on the interracial dating scene?

Are there many places and/or organizations to facilitate young, single professional AAs gathering and meeting?

Are there communities of AAs? I know that there are apparently some communities south of downtown. Where do the young professionals live?

I will be visiting near the end of the week and into the weekend so any feedback (now or later) would be great.

I know that I asked alot of questions. I would love to hear from other AA women or men about your reality. You can PM me if you like.