U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Delaware
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-18-2012, 01:43 PM

11 posts, read 22,087 times

Advertisements

Basically, I'm currently a college student. I'm going into education so I'd be looking for a position as a high school teacher.
I pretty much hate Florida. It is too hot, expensive, and unfriendly. If you aren't rich, retired, or conservative in the area I live, you're just not part of the community.
I'm DEFINITELY not looking for excitement. I'm pretty much a homebody. My idea of a good Friday night would be staying home and watching a movie. My fiancee is African American and when she comes over to my house, if we go out for a walk with the dog, it's like there is some alien out to exhibit. And there's an old lady who looked as if it was a crime for someone of color to be in the neighborhood.

I am not going into my profession to become rich. And my partner isn't gonna be rich either. We want a simple, quiet life in a safe and friendly area. I lived in Illinois for a couple of years, and it was the best thing in this world. But the job market over there for educators is terrible.

If anyone could tell me what it's like living in Delaware and what some good neighborhoods are, I'd really appreciate it! I just NEED to get the hell out of the South and away from the hypocritical Bible thumpers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-18-2012, 02:04 PM

1,768 posts, read 3,057,383 times