U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Delaware
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-30-2015, 05:29 PM

5 posts, read 6,134 times

Advertisements

I'm a 61 year-old artist and am deciding whether to stay where I am ($600/mo mtg and escrow, rural, a little too far from St Louis to be convenient, no college in the area, conservative, very safe, lovely SF historic house)
It's time to refi my ARM and I do t want to do that if I intend to move again. When I moved here, I had a list of requirements and the only one I missed was "within 2 hours of the ocean". So, Delaware has that box checked. Delaware tax rates much better. My other wants/needs include an arts community, more liberal leaning than here, safe because I live alone, an educated population and a home I can afford. I don't mind driving, but I don't want to every day and I'd like a national chain grocery within 10 miles. Can you guess what my current frustrations are? Oh, and I'd like an Episcopal Church nearby.

Please make suggestions, thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-30-2015, 08:30 PM

3,471 posts, read 17,279,846 times
Rehoboth Beach area. Not necessarily the beach town itself. Let's say Sussex County.

Old 08-30-2015, 09:48 PM

Thanks, Shane, I have LOTS of childhood memories of that area, but can I find affordable housing?

Old 08-30-2015, 11:54 PM

996 posts, read 863,490 times
You haven't said what you consider affordable.

Sussex County is generally more conservative than the counties to the north.