U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 11:35 AM

423 posts, read 606,500 times
Default Neighborhoods South of Downtown?

I moved to Denver back in early 2007 before abruptly moving later that year for another job opportunity. I would like to return in the next couple of years when the economy picks up (I am an architect but have been working for a commercial general contractor for the past few years).

When I lived in Denver I rented an apartment near DU. If I move back I would want to probably rent and then look to buy a house. I like the neighborhoods south of downtown the best, roughly east/north of I-25, south/west of Speer and west of Logan. In this area where would I find the most affordable neighborhood? What about the area around Dailey Park in Baker? How are the local schools? And are there any crime issues?

Since I work in design/construction I would be willing to renovate so a 'fixer-uper' is fine as long as the neighborhood is decent. I would really like to buy into a neighborhood or block that is getting better but needs more people like myself to invest in updating the properties. I'm not set on a single-family house but would go for a rowhouse or condo. I would like 3 bedrooms (or 2 bedrooms and an office) and 2 baths though. My price range would be $1,200 max a month for renting and then when I found a house/condo in the 250-300K range (before any renovations).