U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-17-2014, 10:05 PM

1 posts, read 1,584 times

Advertisements

I'm relocating to the Denver Area in little over a month. I've been attempting to line up a job before I move out there for the past two months to no avail. I graduated from Virginia Tech with a BS in chemical engineering this past May with a 2.8 cumulative, 3.25 senior/junior year gpa. My other problem besides my mediocre gpa is that I have no co-op or internship experience and so haven't been able to get companies to even call me back once I apply (even with a local CO address on my resume). I understand that I'm not competitive in the ChE or general engineering job market and need a job once I get out there so at this point I'll take any job I can get that pays well. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-17-2014, 10:35 PM

11,256 posts, read 43,208,400 times
If you need to have a job/income and have limited financial resources ... IMO, you'd do better to delay moving here until you have better job prospects or a job lined up.

There's a lot of competition for the better paying tech jobs in the area right now. Jobs that don't pay a living wage are swamped with applicants, too.

Old 10-18-2014, 10:54 AM

8,317 posts, read 25,785,875 times
Yeah, move somewhere where there is some substantial demand in your career field--the Chemical Coast in Texas would be a good place to start.

Old 10-18-2014, 10:56 AM

1,365 posts, read 2,723,308 times