Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-24-2015, 10:49 PM

2 posts, read 4,500 times

Advertisements

Young professionals looking to move from Fairfax, VA to Austin or Denver

I am a 27 year old designer/illustrator/painter/street art guy looking to leave Virginia. My girlfriend and I have narrowed our lengthy search down to these two cities. I will mention, however she has asthma as well as pretty bad excema. I've read that people with breathing/skin conditions may not be suitable for Denver. Anyone with these issues find it tolerable to live there? This is a major concern for her. We are pretty active, so she usually does just fine with her inhaler. But we certainly don't want the natural elements to irritate her skin or breathing any worse than now. Any advice?

How is the art scene?
Are there currently art districts?
"First Fridays"....
I know of some creative collectives in Austin. Does anyone know of any in Denver as well?

Rate the outdoors.
We are active, healthy individuals who can't wait to get in some hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking and skiing. What are some awesome spots? How far are they from the inner city?

Housing
What are some great surrounding areas to live in? Something in walking distance to a local produce market would be great

We would really love an industrial loft. (exposed brick, high ceilings, etc.) Is this style frequently known to exist in either area? We are certainly open to apt or town home as well. Looking to spend $1500 or less per month.