U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Merry Christmas!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 07-17-2008, 05:22 PM

1 posts, read 4,483 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to being a landlord. One of my tenants keeps turning off the sprinkler, thus killing my grass. His explanation is that he doesn't want to pay for the water used by the sprinkler, as reflected in the utility bills. As far as lawn maintenance, I'm paying someone to mow the lawn, as a courtesy to my tenants. All that I ask is that the lawn get watered, which is not the case.

The lease agreement does not explicitly state who is in charge of lawn maintenance, however, it does say that water bills should be paid by the tenants. Is there something in a Colorado statute that implies that a house renter is responsible for lawn maintenance? Also, if HOA issues a fine, I'm assuming that I'm responsible for it?

Has anyone had a similar experience, or can offer some advice? Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-17-2008, 05:38 PM

294 posts, read 569,893 times
I would suggest that in the future, you pay the water bill and raise the rent to reflect the cost. Keep the sprinklers on a timer and tell the tenant not to mess with it.

Old 07-17-2008, 05:49 PM

226 posts, read 639,242 times