Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 07:05 PM

37 posts, read 127,040 times

Advertisements

I am currently unemployed and my unemployment money runs out in May. My wife and I are tired of Arkansas and the lack of jobs here. I know it’s tough everywhere, but is it really hard to find work in Denver right now?
I have a degree in English, but do not have a teacher’s license. My wife has management experience. Currently, to find a job that pays more than $9.00 an hour, it requires a 25 to 45 mile drive. Considering these circumstances, would a move to Denver be an improvement?
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2009, 01:25 PM

14 posts, read 62,280 times
Here is a better map (you can click on each state to see unemployment rates):

Interactive Map: Job Losses Increase in a Majority of States

I don't know about your idea to move from state to state looking for better employment rates. The question of which state to move to depends on
(1) what you do for a living -- what states have the most jobs for your particular industry (for every job and/or every skillset, there are preferred states that have more jobs)
(2) who you know in that state -- moving near to family who can help you is a brilliant idea... moving to a state where you don't know anyone and if things fell through again you'd be in deep ca-ca is not such a great idea....

Last edited by Gwyneth; 02-09-2009 at 01:28 PM.. Reason: made improvements

Old 02-09-2009, 01:38 PM