U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-14-2009, 10:26 AM

3 posts, read 12,539 times

Advertisements

We are considering moving to Denver. All of the listings we see indicate Denver NW, SW, SE, etc. Can someone please let me know which area of Denver has the highest crime rate, and which ones would be best to raise elementary school-aged children? I am a teacher, and would relocate and teach in the area. Affordability and decency of area are my primary factors. Also, is there a Chinese community in Denver, and where is it?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-14-2009, 12:59 PM

128 posts, read 274,630 times
This forum has a great search engine Topic has been addressed a bajillion times, here's what came up when I searched for "crime rates" in the Denver forum:

http://www.city-data.com/forum/searc...rchid=12818085

Check the "Relocation Questions" thread that comes up in those results, I posted a link to the Denver police's website that has crime maps of the different areas. Also towards the end is a summary that basically says most of Denver is quite safe but there are a few hot spots. Most of the crime is property or vehicle related, not really violent crime...but it does happen and it does travel.

As for schools, I don't have kids so I can't say firsthand but there are also a ton of threads on that subject too What exactly is affordable for you? This will help anyone else chiming in be more specific in what areas to look at.