Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-23-2009, 11:32 AM

1 posts, read 2,542 times

Advertisements

I just wanted to know if anyone has been going through similar situations, feel free to give any advice or general comments:

This May I graduated with a BS in Mechanical Engineering from Texas Tech University and relocated from Lubbock, TX to Westminster, CO. I started my job search in January by going to the career fair and contacting my schools career center. The problem I ran into was that the majority of opportunities that my career center had listed were in Houston or Dallas. I have been coming to Colorado for the last 15 years so I know I wanted to be here. After the career center was no longer an option I began doing research on companies in the area and came up here on my spring break. Most of the companies I contacted said that they were not hiring anyone new until the future business outlook was more stable. Of course that was in March when the markets were declining daily and looked somewhat more uncertain than they do now. As of now, some companies still have the hiring freeze in place and the ones that seem to have openings never respond to emails or phone calls. I guess I thought it was going to be easier to get a job because of the technical degree and I am finding it much more difficult in today's market.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-23-2009, 12:17 PM

5,529 posts, read 12,660,633 times