U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Iowa > Des Moines
 [Register]
Des Moines Dallas, Guthrie, Madison, Polk, and Warren Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-12-2019, 05:12 PM

16 posts, read 12,389 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm a 31 year old African American man with a 1 year old baby. Coming from Milwaukee, I work as a quality inspector in the automotive industry, also with medical equipment and devices. I'm simple, open minded, laid back, I like to go on walks, to various parks, I love all sports, and music. I'm looking to start fresh somewhere new and get out more.

Basically I'm undecided.

I've researched a lot of cities and also read plenty of reviews and message boards. I've seen a lot of pros and cons. I do love what some of you have said about DM in my other posts. HUGE THANKS to that.

Key factors are:

Transplants I've read that DM gets quite a few, refugees also, which is great. What is to expect 'living' in the city as a fresh face?

Diversity / culture / acceptance This is huge for me. I know the city is a predominantly white city with a fair share of blacks and Hispanics. I'm a black man with a mixed son (half black, half Mexican) and I'm not looking for the best or safest neighborhood to live in, just a diverse one.
The city has a decent Hispanic population. What neighborhoods or areas have the highest percentages?

Progressive views I'm progressive and lean heavily left. Whats makes DM liberal and/or progressive?

Singles / nightlife / raising a family Does DM have a decent singles scene and nightlife? Bars, etc?