Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Detroit
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-16-2018, 08:48 PM

2 posts, read 2,534 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent college grad moving from California and am starting work in September in Pontiac.
I've looked at many threads and friends, and a lot of them recommended Royal Oak.

Do you have any suggestions for which areas or complexes to look at? I've also read a bit about Troy, Berkley, Clawson, Birmingham. How would you compare nearby cities?

A bit more info:
- male, will be in long-distance relationship, 22 years old, asian
- want a single-bedroom apartment (can't be too small/studio since i have 3+ bikes)
- enjoys outdoors (biking, running, hiking)
- values good restaurants and diversity, groceries, safe/walkable areas
- <20 min commute preferrable, but I can probably deal with up to 30 minutes.
- budget: I browsed for some apartments, and $800-$1100 is approximately what I am looking at
- I think I'd prefer having a garage/covered parking. I've never lived in a cold/snowy environment.

Last edited by harrisonh; 07-16-2018 at 09:10 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-17-2018, 05:41 AM

1,317 posts, read 1,921,011 times
If you really enjoy outdoor activities like running, biking, hiking then I would look around Rochester and Rochester Hills.

There is the Clinton River trail and Paint Creek trails, both rail trails great for such. Close to Stoney Creek Metropark, Bald Mt rec area, and Bloomer Park.