U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Dogs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2011, 12:21 PM

6,591 posts, read 20,703,190 times

Advertisements

I adore all 3 breeds and have experience with all 3...

im also not plannign for right now but a couple years down the line...

but heres the deal. mim disabled and qualify for a service dog, im not in a position right now, but plan on getting a puppy and self training (i was a dog trainer) as theres very limited resources for pre-schooled dogs for my type of disability.
and i enjoy training...

that being said the dog will have to perform a number of tasks, some for psychiatric service, others for epilepsy and yet others to assist with mobility...
so a small dog wont work...
and as much as i love the giants ( a dane would be my dream dog) they are too large to comfortably perform most service work (they dont compact very well for small spaces)

Im also going to be a young woman living alone...

all 3 breeds have pros and cons.

dobies are stunning but prone to alot of genetic issues (yes good breeding will help reduce but...) they are also subject to breed bans and insurance issues...
i am worried about same sex dog agression being that i have small dogs.
on the plus size there a short coated easy upkeep kind of breed, very inteligent and they have a certian intimidation factor that would be a nice added bonus.