U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Dogs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-22-2013, 04:35 PM

689 posts, read 1,231,451 times

Advertisements

A little background that some of you may have read before: I was a teacher of at-risk students, got a brain injury at school, and had to medically retire. We foster puppies and kittens through our local humane society, and got a litter of 4-week-old pups soon after my accident. After nursing one of the puppies through parvo, she became a "foster failure" and moved in with us permanently. Because I get lost, confused, and don't always see steps and curbs when I'm walking, she is being trained as my "GPS" service dog. She looks like a red nose pit/lab mix, but she's actually dobie/boxer/rottie/GSD/etc/etc.

My doctor said it's time for me to start doing something I enjoy so, of course, I'm now volunteering at a middle school, and have been assigned 2 at-risk kids to work with. Today I took my Peanut for the first time, and it went great! The boys loved her, the other kids at school were excited to see her in the halls, and she had a good time getting so much attention. The boys want to teach her tricks, starting with jumping through a hoop. She'll be coming with me every week and I'm so excited!