U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Dogs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-31-2015, 10:43 PM

5,159 posts, read 5,100,908 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone!

First time posting in this forum. I have some issues and need some advice and helpful tips.

I am a professional dog walker/pet sitter since last summer. I LOVE my job. It's been one of the most rewarding experiences ever!

However as of late I am having a problems with a new client, a 2 year old mini schanuzer.

I've had 4 walks with her. The first two walks went super well and she walked at an excellent pace. She gave me frequent eye contact. However she was pretty insecure with me and was hesitant to let me touch her and she rejected treats. She is very anxious about new surroundings and doesn't do well around other dogs, people or loud noises. The third walk was HORRIBLE. First of all, her mom put a Seahawks jersey on her and she really hated it. She kept shaking (wet dog shake, not scared dog shake). Secondly as soon as she went outside another dog was walking by and she got really upset. Things were not off to a good start. We only got about 20 feet down the street and she just stopped. She would NOT move. I try really, really hard not to pull the dogs I walk. So I crouched down next to her.. she did this semi-circle walk around my front, approached me from the side and put her head on my knee. I gave her some love and tried to soothe her. We got up to try again and the whole thing happened again... and again... and again... I gave up and took her home 10 minutes early.