U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Dogs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread
Old 04-29-2010, 11:34 PM
207 posts, read 800,786 times

Hi all-
I'm looking to adopt a small dog in about a month once I move to where I am going to school (I'm going to be a graduate student getting my Master's degree). I've been thinking about where to adopt from and I'm concerned that I won't get approved by a shelter because they have such ridiculously high standards. I am a student who is going to be home virtually all day except for when I am in class, and actually I'll be home all day every day until classes start in August. I will be renting a 2 bedroom townhouse to myself with no roommates or anything and I'll have plenty of room but no yard. My lease says I'm allowed to have a dog under 25lbs so they wouldn't really need a yard but I know a lot of places are very picky. I plan on taking the dog out every day on a leash of course and I've had dogs my whole life. I just wouldn't be surprised if I got rejected from a rescue or a shelter because I'm a student, I don't have a job or a yard or I am new to the area and don't have any vet references or something. Money is not a problem, my parents give me all the money I need for anything and I will be getting a stipend from the school. I wanted to adopt from a shelter because I'd like to save a dog but I'm not sure I want to put myself through all of that just to be rejected. I had considered maybe getting one from someone on Craigslist but that is just so shady and most of those people are just trying to dump their sick pets on other people so it would end