U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-08-2011, 06:29 PM

16,587 posts, read 14,060,224 times

Advertisements

We sort of hijacked a thread on block scheduling so I am going to start a new one.

As a teacher I have taught in a traditional 9 periods a day schedule, a half year block schedule and now I teach in an AB block schedule.

I have never liked the half year block because children can go as long as 1 1/2 between consecutive math or language courses which can mean retention problems. But I could go on and on about the benefits of the AB block.

I keep hearing people talk about the cons of the AB block but I am not sure what that means. From the other thread someone said that children cannot concentrate that long. Anyone have any other reason to dislike block scheduling?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-08-2011, 06:33 PM

25,393 posts, read 30,721,001 times
I've taught on a rotating block (not quite an A/B block) and loved it. Classes were, I believe, 72 minutes long. For me, as a science teacher, this gave lots of time for activities. What I had to watch is that I didn't plan too many and take too much class time on topic.

What I dislike about blocks is that sometimes, you wrap up one topic and the next step would be having the kids do homework and reviewing homework. When that happens, you end up using classtime for what should be homework because you can't do the review before they do the homework and you can't move on to the next topic.

Old 09-08-2011, 08:01 PM

12,617 posts, read 28,088,396 times