U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-15-2019, 09:34 AM

1 posts, read 191 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone. I hope you all are doing well. I graduated back in 2016 with a degree in accounting. I then started my business and things went alright. However, my sister is a teacher, and i have been a volunteer teaching at my church. I really do enjoy teaching. I wanted to know what would be the best way for me to become a math teacher? I am currently trying to sign up for some teacher assistant jobs, hopefully i get in. While doing that, i plan to retake a few math courses to refresh my memory. Then study to get certified for the math 7-12 certification. However, i am worried that i wont be able to find a job since i did not major in math. What do you guys suggest? (Currently, i do not want to get into a Master's program-just a personal preference)

Last edited by Count David; 02-15-2019 at 10:22 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-15-2019, 11:18 AM

6,856 posts, read 9,997,510 times
It depends on your area, but school districts tend to be so desperate for math teachers, they'll hire anyone certified to teach it. One of my math teachers had a degree in biology, and all he taught was math classes. He was miserable and a terrible math teacher, but they made him teach math because they had no one else, and there were no openings for biology/life science. I also had a physics teacher who had a degree in microbiology. You could tell she was outside of her comfort zone.

Old 02-15-2019, 12:31 PM

2,101 posts, read 923,184 times