U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-30-2019, 06:29 AM

29 posts, read 9,416 times

Advertisements

If your child does not want or cannot go to college, you may be interested in the story of my daughter’s professional education.

Very short version.

She learned Programming with my help and got a software engineer job when she was nineteen years old. The whole process took about 15 months. She was studying approximately 15 hours per week.

Longer version.

I have been programming for more than 30 years. I have no college degree. Instead, I have been teaching computer science to my self all that time. I never had any problems finding a software engineer job.

My daughter decided to learn computer science with my help at the end of her senior year. She started to study a couple of hours after school and more on weekends.

She was learning reading by books and sites, watching videos, but most of all, by writing programs. She was writing a lot of programs in Python and C++. I was reviewing her work, giving some hints and explaining the most difficult ideas.

After she finished high school, she got a full-time low paying job and continued study in the same way.

Fifteen months after she started, I searched in google for an entry-level position for her and found it in less than one minute. I was expecting her to fail many times before she got the first job.