U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-02-2010, 02:00 AM

477 posts, read 2,021,109 times

Advertisements

Hi guys my major is finance and to take that major I need to clear a pre requisite which is calculus.
I have not taken math for about 3 years now....since junior year in high school....
Junior year I had to pay 1500 to pass pre calculus, and in which I got a B.
When you don't lose it, you lose it.
Since I plan on taking it next semester, I want to prepare and brush up by myself.
I was wondering if you guys can give me any suggestions on how to prepare for a calculus class and if there are any sites or books that can help me.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2010, 02:02 AM

43,564 posts, read 52,720,164 times
If you're really worried, get a tutor.

However, I totally sucked at pre-cal and totally aced calculus. It's strange, but calculus is more intuitive and fun. I actually loved calculus.

Old 02-02-2010, 05:25 AM

691 posts, read 948,128 times
Well, I'm assuming this is a "Business Calc' course (as opposed to the Calc course Science/Math people take). If so, you won't have to worry about the trigonometry material from Pre-Calc; but you will need a very solid understanding of the algebra (logarithms, rational expressions, functions, graphs, and equation solving, just to name several topics.)