U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > El Paso
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-10-2008, 04:37 PM

50 posts, read 163,449 times

Advertisements

hello all, i am considering moving to el paso from port arthur and i was kinda wondering how the job market is there. I have a bachelor's degree in history, but i don't necessarily have to teach for work. I recently tried to move to Eagle Pass because I really wanted to live on a border town but it has not worked out, i could not find a place to live and people would just not give me a job because 1. I do not know anyone here. 2. They would always ask me why did i move here from Port arthur.

Kinda tired of those questions..just wondering about the job market and will i have to deal with the same issues if I move to El paso? And how is juarez? Is it really as dangerous as people make it out to be? Thanks...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-10-2008, 05:41 PM

5,080 posts, read 7,665,726 times
Expect the same here.

Old 08-10-2008, 07:01 PM

200 posts, read 516,754 times
Ditto...unless you teach.

Old 08-10-2008, 07:42 PM

4,626 posts, read 7,200,374 times
Once upon a time.. and I hate to admit just how many years ago it was, I decided to move to El Paso. I'd had it with the bright city lights and insanity of Los Angeles. I worked in broadcast media.

Nearest relations were in Dona Ana County, NM. I cold-called every radio and tv station in El Paso until I had a job offer. I commuted for two weeks from Dona Ana County, NM. Then found an ELP apartment, moved in... and the rest, as they say is history.