U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Eugene area
 [Register]
Eugene area Eugene - Springfield metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-12-2011, 01:35 PM

1 posts, read 1,962 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are planning to move to Eugene Oregon in 2012. We are wondering what the status of jobs are. I have been teaching for five years and my husband has been a mechanic for over twenty years. (bus, wind machines, diesel)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-13-2011, 10:36 AM

6,028 posts, read 13,093,499 times
Hi Jenbay... the job issue has been discussed quite a bit here on C-D... I'd suggest you do a search for other threads that talk about this.

I know several people, all wanting to be teachers, who graduated from the U of O College of Education who have had to take other jobs while they wait it out on the sub list at local schools to try to get their foot in the door. One guy has been on the sub list for Eugene 4j since 2007. He finds whatever jobs he can in the meantime - last summer he was a summer camp counselor at the Science Factory in Eugene. Another, who actually has a Master's degree in Education, opened up her own coffee cart while she waits it out on the sub list as well. And a third person I know took a job as an assistant at a kitchen supplies store - at least there she is teaching, albeit cooking classes.