Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Exercise and Fitness
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-01-2010, 10:12 AM

239 posts, read 708,326 times

Advertisements

I am new to a local with extreme temperatures and really need to get some workout clothes to wear in the Cold and hot and humid weather! Does anyone know of a company that makes these clothes that are not too expensive?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-01-2010, 11:45 PM

5,816 posts, read 15,845,185 times
For specialized activities such as hiking, skiing, etc., you need clothing suitable for the sport as well as for the weather.

If you're talking about activities done more often for everyday exercise, like jogging, what I've found about exercising in cold weather is that you need to wear less than you might think you do, because you will generate some heat once you get moving. On the coldest days you may feel a little chilly when you first start out if you're not wearing a jacket, but my experience has been that you don't have to run for more than a few minutes before you warm up pretty well. You may feel a little stiff when it's cold out, if you just step out the door and start running. It's a good idea to loosen up and get your body prepared for vigourous activity in the cold, by doing some warm-up exercises OUTSIDE. Do some jumping jacks, arm circles, and running in place until you begin to feel your muscles loosening up a bit, and then begin your run.