U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska > Fairbanks
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 08:22 PM

20 posts, read 30,721 times

Advertisements

So I am interviewing for a job in Fairbanks this week. I feel fairly confident I could land the job for several reasons. So coming from New Jersey, what should I know should I accept a job offer in Fairbanks? What's the best way to move there, by air or by car (I'm a recent graduate with a four door sedan that currently does not run).

I think it would be a great adventure, even if I only stay for a couple of years. I've certainly never lived in a place like Fairbanks before, and would welcome the challenge. That being said, what about the cold? I think the coldest temperature I've ever experienced in my life is right around 0 F or maybe a degree or two below it (not counting wind chills). Am I going to die? What kind of gear should I buy? More importantly, how much will that stuff run me?

Since I don't know anybody in town, what would be the best thing for me to do upon arriving in town while I search for apartments? Get a hotel?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-23-2012, 10:56 PM

4,045 posts, read 5,433,684 times