U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Fashion and Beauty
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-21-2011, 11:53 PM

68 posts, read 263,977 times

Advertisements

Hello -

I'm a 25 year old soldier. As of this morning, I weigh about 178 pounds. Three years ago - not long before I joined the Army - I weighed in at 240. In high school, I got as high as 290 - and I'm only 5'9.

This isn't about how I lost the weight - a lot of exercise, dieting, hard work, and a year long deployment - but what's resulted, and I bet a lot of you can guess.

I've got a weird, distended stomach that my buddies constantly tease me for - jerks that they are, they refer to it as my 'pouch'. No matter how much my weight fluctuates, it doesn't seem to get much bigger or smaller. I'm really self conscious about it - I won't go around shirtless if I don't have to, even around a bunch of guys. God help me if there's women around.

I've also got a good amount of stretch marks, but I'm less concerned about them - I know there's not much I can do about them, and they bother me far less than my stomach. I've got quite a few from high school that have faded to near nothing.

So does anyone have any advice on how to help? I know that surgery is probably the best option - and one I'll talk to with my doctor, next time I see him. But that's also incredibly expensive, and I seriously doubt TRICARE would cover something like that.

Is there anything else you guys could reccomend? I know there's no magic bullet, but anything would help.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2011, 02:03 AM