U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Fashion and Beauty
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-28-2013, 02:47 PM

2,572 posts, read 6,258,861 times

Advertisements

When I was growing up, it was considered extremely tacky to ever have your bra straps showing. I am 41. I am also a full time student attending college with a more traditional college-age population so I am around lots of women aged 18 to 22. I have noticed that this doesn't seem to be a big deal anymore at all. I see bra straps all the time when someone is wearing a spaghetti strap top, or a top that criss crosses or is a racer back, etc.

What do y'all think?

I live in a very hot climate and as it warms up, like it is doing now, I definitely want to wear as little as possible. This means sundresses and tank tops and such and I am really annoyed by all the clothing out there that is made in such a way that there is no way to hide the bra straps. Especially when the clothing is made in a larger size. Why on earth would they make something in an XL or 14/16 and then make it so that it can't be worn with a regular bra without the bra showing!? Dumb.