U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Fashion and Beauty
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 05:51 AM

1,403 posts, read 2,073,281 times

Advertisements

So I've been researching sewing machines lately, I didn't want to spend more than $150 on one. The ones in that price range though are mainly Singers and Brothers, but Ive read a lot of reviews and people say these machines are cheap. It seems as if Janomes are mid range priced machines and I haven't seen anyone say anything bad about that brand so far, but those are at least $200. I'm just a student who waits tables so there is no way I can afford a Bernina, Husqvarna Viking, or a Baby Lock which those brands seem to be the ones that experienced seamstresses say are awesome.

I want my sewing machine to last at least 2 years. I don't want a piece of junk, but I don't want the most expensive thing. I read that the best time to buy sewing machines are at Christmas time or Mothers day when there are really good deals on them, but I don't want to wait that long to get one. Since I'm stating out I know I don't need something with all the bells and whistles.

I was on a website and it said that these are must haves for a sewing machine:

Automatic buttonholer – Buttonholes are hard to sew beautifully, so this is where technology can really help out. Some machines have 4-step buttonholes, sewn in four steps. Others do a 1-step buttonhole, sewn in one step.