U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Fashion and Beauty
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-11-2016, 07:38 PM

6,754 posts, read 3,356,692 times

Advertisements

I don't know about the rest of you, but when the heck did knock offs/ fakes of brand name items gets so good.

I am a jewellery freak and my latest impulse purchases have been Pandora jewellery. I have a crazy amount of the charms. I am not good at self control regarding buying things like this once I am on a roll so I started to buy charms from ebay and kijiji ( re-sale) because you can really get even authentic stuff at huge mark downs because some people especially people who get this stuff as gifts ( especially if it is from an ex) are more then happy to accept 25% or less of what is retails for.

I did my home work on how to tell the fakes vs the real stuff... but darn it is getting hard. I have enough of this stuff and shop at the store enough to really know how to look for details... but wow there are some really amazing fakes out there. For example I recently purchase a bracelet from ebay. It was suppose to be silver with a 14 k gold clasp. I got it at a really good priced, which actually does not mean it is fake because I have got 100% authentic stuff at amazingly low prices too. When I got the item it ended up being a full 14k gold bracelet. I did not swallow a fist full of 4 leaf clovers today so there is like next to no way they accidently sent me a bracelet that retails around $2200 dollars vs the bracelet that retails around $400. I am just not that bloody luck !