U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-10-2010, 11:38 AM

5 posts, read 12,676 times

Advertisements

This is my first time posting and my questions may be quite confusing because I am confused. Also, am sorry for the long message

Our HOA (governed by Chapter 720) has several residential buildings on the property. Each building houses 4 single family townhouse units. We own the townhouse units fee simple. It is my understanding that the assn ‘insurable interest’ in the buildings is governed by the Covenants. Our Covenants require the Assn to carry ‘master policy’ on all buildings.

Citizens describes Commercial Residential Property:

A. The following classes shall be deemed Commercial Residential Property and may be written on behalf of Citizens

1. Condominium Associations
2. Apartment Buildings
3. Common Elements of Homeowners Associations
4. Residential buildings of a Homeowners Association are eligible for commercial residential coverage if the HOA Declaration demonstrates that it is the responsibility of the Association to obtain the property coverage for these buildings

Our buildings are insured under Commercial Residential Policy. The Declaration page shows that each building is insured at 100% Replacement value (3% deductible) and it describes each building as: ‘2 story (4) unit townhouse, wind resistive, flat roof and reinforced concrete roof.’

Q1: The Declaration page does NOT state each building has 16 glass sliding doors and eight balconies. Does it mean the glass and balconies may not be insured?