U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-23-2011, 07:51 AM

1,798 posts, read 2,302,209 times

Advertisements

Are there any others like me that were either born in Florida or spent the bulk of their lives here, and are just totally sick of this place? And what really gives you a feeling of frustration and loneliness is watching those around you just rave about what an unbelievable paradise this is, like it's a surreal dream for them. They get to wear flip-flops in December they say! Look, I've been dressing like a bum here for nearly 40 years now. It would be nice to dress up in some grown up clothes now and then. I've got my fill of seeing rednecks wearing tank tops and sandals. People here are in honeymoon phase and I'm well passed that. My neighbor says to me yesterday, "isn't this just unbelievable weather?". Yeah lady, that's why that big window AC you see up there is running. Sorry but a 68 degree dewpoint isn't what I'd call perfect. And what's with the obsession with water? Their solution to beating the heat is always to submerge in water. Yeah I'll just put my client on hold so I can go in the pool. Only problem is once you get out of the water you're sweating again. Maybe we'll just conduct business in the pool with waterproof tablets. I've had enough water to last me a lifetime. My parents bought a house in St. Petersburg in the 70's and our recreation was based around the pool, boating, and fishing. Then we moved to Boca Raton in the late 80's. My grandmother had a top floor condo right on A1A overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.