U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-03-2008, 03:45 PM

1 posts, read 1,464 times
Default Moving to Florida...HELP!!!

I am a student at UNC Charlotte and have lived in Charlotte, NC my entire life. I am looking for a new experience and am intersted in moving to Florida once i graduate with my degree. I was wondering which areas would be the most recommended. The beach would be my main concern and also nightlife. I was curious about the cost of living considering that I will just be getting out of college. Please help me out!
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-03-2008, 06:56 PM

1 posts, read 1,451 times
Since you specifically stated that the beach is important I'll comment on that first.

Each coastal community has it's own unique personality. For example, [SIZE=-1]Sanibel and Captiva are barrier islands on the west coast where the scenery is almost identical to that of southern Hutchinson Island on the east coast. And yet they feel different somehow. Really the only way to know which you're compatable with is to visit extensively.

Mainland beaches (with no barrier island) tend to have more of an "old Florida" feel, with the exception of those in large metro areas.

I will say that the population is generally younger on the east coast. And perhaps a little more laid-back.

One simply can't beat the nightlife in Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade Counties. South Beach offers an international element, not to mention a more permissive and lifestyle tolerant social structure.