U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-24-2008, 06:43 PM

8 posts, read 28,657 times

Advertisements

HI!
I have been wanting to go to Florida for a while, just to live there. Really don't know how it is but it's one of those things you want to do before you die. I have a CNC degree which is a pretty active job add all across the country so I would be able to find work easy (I hope....)
Anyways, I have a lot of questions, like how much is average 1 bedroom rent, how hard is it to get a loan, a car, and what would be the best place for a single guy to move too, that's not too expencive, close to a beach, night life, stuff like that... Not too much criminal activity, and what's the racial profile in Florida... Any help is much appreciated.
Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-24-2008, 08:06 PM

8,204 posts, read 32,232,767 times
I'd recommend starting with the statistics section of City-Data:

http://www.city-data.com/city/Florida.html

Select a few cities, and start to look at their profiles. Then see what questions remain and start to ask Q's on the subforums to help narrow down your selection to just a couple of cities.

Once you have 2 or 3 cities to consider, fly down and take a closer look.

2 cities that I'd recommend considering are Jacksonville and Tampa. These 2 are still affordable, and have a young population (at least Jax does).

If you have a preference of Gulf or Ocean might help in your city selection process too.

Old 07-25-2008, 10:31 AM

10,604 posts, read 14,217,570 times