U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-09-2009, 08:57 AM

47 posts, read 281,990 times

Advertisements

I am a trying to figure out what to DO at this time in my life and this time in my family's life and this time in the economy....people here always seem to have valuable things to say so i am posting my hopefully coherent quandry here.

me: 35 yr old mom of a 9 yr old special needs child, i have a bachelors from a swanky college, have my temporary teaching certif. in FL, and have one year of teaching in special ed. under my belt (didnt love it but its a job), but an overall unimpressive resume, because of the years spent caring for my son, not many impressive or long lasting positions on ,my resume - only real strength is college i attended.

husband: 35 yrs old, graduate of great college but degree in drama! also, crappy resume since then, worked mostly for his father in his tile company, only recently about a year and half ago branched out to working on some machines making armor for police etc. - more of a "job" than anything, not paying very well.

issues: particularly due to my sons situation, i want to and always planned on making enough decent money in my life time to leave him with some kind of inheretence/trust. also, goals ( i am VERY goal driven so to speak) of owning own home, establishing a career (whatever that may be, more on that) and living some place i like a LITTLE better than the place i am now.