U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-15-2010, 03:14 PM

551 posts, read 2,821,313 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,
I have a job interview in Gainesville this week and if I get an offer, am seriously considering moving there (I'm currently in a mid-sized city south of Chicago). I lived in Miami for about a year and am somewhat accustomed to the Florida way of life, but have heard that north/south Florida are like night and day. I'll get to the point--I'm a 25 year-old young professional who happens to identify as lesbian, but I'm concerned about what life would be like for me there. Is Gainesville gay-friendly? What are people's attitudes about it? Are there any gay bars, gay sports leagues, etc.?

Also, where would be a good neighborhood for me to live? I'm young and enjoy living in "the center of it all"--somewhere I can easily walk to lots of bars, restaurants, etc. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2010, 07:12 PM

5,507 posts, read 9,240,282 times
Gainesville was just ranked 11th most gay friendly city. Downtown is very small but has a good amount going on. That really would be the best and probably only option if you want an active area that isn't full of college kids. Gainesville is very liberal as are most true college towns.

11. Gainesville, Fla.