U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-31-2016, 02:14 PM

3,060 posts, read 2,978,215 times

Advertisements

So it's a beautiful day out and I decided to grill some kabobs on the rooftop of my apartment. This is my first time doing this here and none of the grills would ignite.

So maintenance came out and finally got ONE burner to work. So I put a kabob on and...well, this isn't going good. It's been in for half an hour and the temperature gauge on the outside of the grill is barely reading 250. The kabob has chicken breast and veggies on it. It's simply not cooking. I really wanted it grilled!

Any suggestions? Should I finish cooking it by baking it instead??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-31-2016, 02:15 PM

32,107 posts, read 39,170,046 times
Well, if the grill won't work it may be time to go to Plan B.

Old 05-31-2016, 03:04 PM

16,935 posts, read 19,672,707 times
Maybe the tank is empty or low, or the burners need replacing. How old is the grill? Finish baking them in the oven or if you have a cast Iron grill pan cook them on that.

Old 05-31-2016, 03:11 PM

5,119 posts, read 12,716,950 times
Have you checked the venturi tubes (where the gas flows to the burners)? If they're clogged with spiderwebs or other trash, it won't light.,.,.and could cause an explosion!

Old 06-01-2016, 07:18 AM

34,544 posts, read 42,708,506 times
I guess you probably figured something out by now, but I would have used my oven broiler.

Old 06-01-2016, 07:43 AM

22,706 posts, read 21,750,727 times
Quote: