U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 05:02 PM

1 posts, read 3,306 times

Advertisements

I am a student at the University of Southern Mississippi. I am doing a map project on cultural diversity of holiday traditions in America. I want to know what dishes are most common, particularly for New Years Day, in your State. For instance, in South Mississippi we eat black-eyed peas for luck and cabbage for money. Also any other traditions are useful. Any information will be helpful.
Thank you,
Kris Kelley
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-19-2008, 05:54 PM

28,906 posts, read 45,296,292 times
In Alabama, you don't just eat black-eyed peas for luck. You're also supposed to cook a silver dollar in the pot with the peas.

Old 03-19-2008, 07:38 PM

6,749 posts, read 19,581,342 times
In Kentucky we eat black eyed peas and cabbage or greens as well. Well, at least I do.

Old 03-20-2008, 01:28 AM

5,802 posts, read 15,508,673 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpg35223 View Post
In Alabama, you don't just eat black-eyed peas for luck. You're also supposed to cook a silver dollar in the pot with the peas.
I've never heard of that!
Mostly I've heard that you eat black-eye peas (representing coin) and greens (representing folding money!). Greens - could be cabbage, turnip, or mustard greens. As long as they're green!

Old 03-20-2008, 07:23 AM

4,899 posts, read 16,274,063 times