U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-01-2018, 07:38 PM

1,775 posts, read 2,590,161 times

Advertisements

I'm new to the San Antonio area after living my entire life on the east coast. When I go grocery shopping, I notice that most of the stores have a section where they have tons of bagged up plain tortillas and they are busy making fresh ones. THese are large size like wraps. There's obviously a high demand for them here but what do you do with them aside from making soft tacos or enchiladas?

I also have noticed hardshell ones packaged up. What do you do with them? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-01-2018, 07:48 PM

10,171 posts, read 16,743,649 times
A taco is pretty much anything in a tortilla. My personal favorite main fillings are shredded beef, pinto or black beans, or avocado slices. Will add some combination of hot sauce or salsa, sour cream, cheese, onion, and shredded lettuce or cabbage to those.

I also make fusion tacos like Asian-spiced meatballs served with shredded cabbage and hoisin or plum sauce.

You can also make your own pinwheel wraps using deli meat and cheese and veggies.

Quesadillas are also popular in my home.

Note that those grocery store fresh tortillas will taste better than the kind in the bread aisle, but will not keep nearly as long.

Old 11-01-2018, 07:54 PM

9,894 posts, read 5,788,541 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarragon View Post