Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Foreclosures, Short Sales, and REOs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-16-2012, 04:01 PM

12,547 posts, read 9,932,660 times

Advertisements

Ok, so I'm new to the real estate game and I'm looking to make my second purchase which is a 1700 sq ft foreclosed split level in a good neighborhood. My plan is to fix it up, live in it a few years and then sell. The house was priced at $85k, $69k (went under contract for a month) and then $59k. The day it dropped to $59k, I put in $56k and it got accepted. After the inspection, I lowered my offer to $50k and they accepted. However, I'm still not sure about the deal and I'm hoping I can get a little insight here (I know its hard to give concrete advice without seeing the house).

As far as comps, there are about 5 split/tri level homes within a 0.5 mile that have sold for $115k+ within the last 1.5 years. All are pretty well maintained family homes (nothing too fancy) with simillar square footage and lot size.

The house needs the following (prices are estimates based on going to Lowes w/15% discount and me doing a lot of the work):

vinyl siding/windows and trim wrapped - $3500 installed by someone else
interior doors (closet doors are fine) - $1000
two toilets - $300
two windows (the rest are newish replacements) - $500
hot water heater - $300
updated light fixtures/fans - $1500
a little landscaping - $300 (I will do this)
carpet/vinyl floors in kirchen and bathroom (plan on painting the 600 sq ft of slab flooring) - $3000