Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Fort Collins area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-14-2009, 07:09 AM

2 posts, read 8,009 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I am a non-traditional college student living in GA trying to finish my Bachelor's Degree in Interpreter Education. These programs are limited and my mobility is very limited! UNC has a distance program in Interpreter Education that requires summer "in house" classes in Greeley. Can you give me honest feedback about the town, the school, and the program if you have any info.
Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-17-2009, 03:50 PM

697 posts, read 3,275,234 times
I work for the Weld County Sheriff's Office in a law enforcement capacity and I will be brutally honest with you. Greeley does have a crime problem. Quite a large one for a city its size. We have a significant gang issue too. Again, very significant for a city its size. that being said, there is some good news, the crime seems to be isolated according to current trends. It appears that the crime stays in the same areas for the most part. So avoid those places and all will be fine. It is a great area and I was skeptical about moving here but I am glad I did.

As for UNC. I feel the school is great. The area around UNC is relatively safe. Every now and then we get some knucklehead who wants to stir up trouble, but for the most part, a safe area. I do not know about the specific program, but perhaps someone on here will.