Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 09-15-2017, 10:29 AM

10 posts, read 8,327 times

Advertisements

Hello all, I have a job opportunity in the Plano area and had some questions before I scout out the area. A little about me first... Wife and I are in our mid 30s, both college educated and military veterans. We own a horse and appreciate our privacy. My hobbies include shooting, hunting, fishing, camping, offroading, etc. We also enjoy fine art/museums, libraries, learning new things, etc. I work in IT and my wife stays home.

I'm thinking to live more around the FW side than the Dallas side simply because suggestions from friends/co-workers who are TX natives. They say FW has a more "Texas" feel than Dallas, is this true? I'm a huge BBQ enthusiast and usually wear western boots. I have visited Austin a year or two ago and got a very CA vibe from it and it did not feel like we were in TX at all! Not that it was a bad thing, but perhaps my expectations were not correct.

Wife and I are looking for something more rural, but not 2 hrs away from civilization. Our budget would be $400k MAX, preferably $350k and our dream house would be an acre or more so we can have our horse on our property. I'm also willing to commute up to an hour to Plano for work. We have a 5 yr old so decent public school is important, too. We prefer trees and landscape vs flat terrain with no trees.