U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Fort Worth
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-26-2010, 09:21 PM

2 posts, read 2,186 times

Advertisements

I'm thinking of relocating from Chicago, IL to Fort Worth. I'm currently a nursing student and am looking into transferring to TCU, as their program seems to suit what I'm looking for.

My boyfriend is from California and we're looking for a place where we can both be happy. He rodeos, and is looking for something more small town, while I'm more of a city girl. He's always been interested in living in Texas, at least for awhile, and I'm hoping Fort Worth can be somewhat of a compromise.

What can you tell me about the area, as I'm really not familiar with it. This time of year in Chicago, all I can think about is going somewhere warm with all the snow we've been getting.

Is Fort Worth too big of a city to find any cowboys, or at least is there smaller towns near by where TCU would be within driving distance?

I've heard the cost of living is cheaper there and that there's no state income tax, is this true? I've got so many questions, so hopefully you all can help me out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-27-2010, 09:48 AM

1,064 posts, read 3,021,094 times
1. We don't get the snow and cold like Chicago does. Yes, it can be cold but you won't be shoveling snow or anything like that. It can be 25 degrees for 2 days and warm up to 70 for the next few days.