U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Frugal Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-27-2011, 11:39 PM

1,149 posts, read 944,262 times
Default Reasonably priced eyeglasses

I bought myself some Burberry frames off of ebay for $85 (new, verified genuine). Now I have to get lenses for them. What's the best B&M option for eyeglasses?

I'm a college student still under my parents' (divorced) insurance. Mom has been stricken with an ever less curable cancer, so I need to be creative in many aspects of life. Normally, we'd go to Wise Eyes and walk out spending $450+ ($200+ for contacts, $250 for lenses only for older frames). After educating myself...these prices are an inefficient use of my money (aka rip-off).

I've been speaking to my family (excellent asset) about riding with them to either BJ's (grandfather) or Costco (uncle) one day. My current Rx is rather strong (-5.50), so I need to thinner (usually high index) lenses. I could use the local Wal-Mart I suppose...

Does anyone have any experience with any of those three? I just need lenses (probably will spring for transitions as I'm outside frequently). Contacts are $13.88/box ($55.52 for a 6 month supply), which I'll get as well.

Any thoughts? Which would be the better bet?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-27-2011, 11:45 PM

20,293 posts, read 15,482,258 times
If you already have frames, this is the cheapest place I know of:

Eyeglasses & Contact Lenses | America's Best Contacts & Eyeglasses