U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Frugal Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-20-2015, 03:57 PM
 
9,064 posts, read 9,217,240 times
Reputation: 4665

Advertisements



I am looking at a year's worth of data on electric usage (every hour). The data goes from a low of 580 Watts to highest data points 9,390W and 10,310W. I illustrated the data graphically. The median data is 2250 Watts.

My question is would 100 Amp service have been sufficient to serve this home, or is there a possible spike in data that is less than an hour that would have tripped the fuses?
It seems that 200 Amp service is overkill unless you have electric heat. I understand that people are building in 300 or 400 Amp service today.
Attached Thumbnails
100 vs 200 Amp service-electric-usage.png  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-20-2015, 06:34 PM
 
8,768 posts, read 10,329,110 times
Reputation: 13822
What is the surge load?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-20-2015, 06:37 PM
 
Location: Near Falls Lake
2,297 posts, read 1,675,948 times
Reputation: 2142
Why would you want less than 200 amp service? Just having 200 amp service doesn't cost you anything more. The cost differential between a 100 amp panel and 200 amp panel is insignificant.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-20-2015, 08:04 PM
 
8,768 posts, read 10,329,110 times
Reputation: 13822
Since this is the frugal living forum, it's most likely is an upgrade. They have 100 amp service and wondering if it makes financial sense pay an electrician to upgrade their current service from 100 amps to 200 amps. On a parts basis, yep it a non issue as the cost is negligible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 03:15 AM
 
9,064 posts, read 9,217,240 times
Reputation: 4665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabrrita View Post
Since this is the frugal living forum, it's most likely is an upgrade. They have 100 amp service and wondering if it makes financial sense pay an electrician to upgrade their current service from 100 amps to 200 amps. On a parts basis, yep it a non issue as the cost is negligible.
Of course. I realize that starting from scratch everyone puts in a 200 Amp service, but this home was built in 1928.

The original refrigerator (which still runs) uses one of the toxic gases, ammonia (NH3), methyl chloride (CH3Cl), or sulfur dioxide (SO2), as refrigerants as Freon was not invented. But since freezers weren't invented yet, it doesn't use that much power.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabrrita View Post
What is the surge load?
I see all kinds of ways to estimate that for sizing backup generators, for one piece of equipment, but I don't know how high it has peaked in past data in a house where a dozen things are turning off and on. As far as I know, the only data you can get from your smart meter is average usage over a 1 hour period.
Attached Thumbnails
100 vs 200 Amp service-0415151001.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 06:30 AM
 
Location: Jamestown, NY
7,841 posts, read 6,916,930 times
Reputation: 13779
If you already have a newer 100 amp electric service and aren't going with electric heat or hot water or ductless AC, I don't think I would upgrade to 200 amps just to say you have it. I think that the trend these days is for modern appliances/electronics to use less and less electrical energy than in the past, so while we're filling up our homes with all kinds of electronics and appliances, they use much less energy.

You might cross post this in the House forum. There are a lot of knowledgeable folks there, and somebody (probably more than one somebody) can likely you help you out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 09:26 AM
 
16,476 posts, read 17,501,756 times
Reputation: 23521
most change from 100 to 200 because they are adding circuits or the old panel is bad and the cost between a 100 to a 200 amp is negligible as far as parts and labor is the same. But unless there is a problem with your existing panel changing it to change it is pointless. You're not gaining a more efficient panel. You can however add circuits later if you need it where the old one would be overloaded
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 10:38 AM
 
11,304 posts, read 5,834,479 times
Reputation: 20949
Quote:
Originally Posted by PacoMartin View Post
My question is would 100 Amp service have been sufficient to serve this home, or is there a possible spike in data that is less than an hour that would have tripped the fuses?
You can't tell from the information you provided. What is electric in the house that would be running at the same time? A/C? Heat pump? Dehumidifier? Range? Water heater? Clothes dryer? Heating element in the dishwasher? Fridge? Lighting? Real energy pigs like a hot tub? You have to add them all up. If you get anything close to 100 amps, you likely want to upgrade your service.

I have natural gas for my boiler, water heater, clothes dryer, and range. I have a 19 SEER mini-split AC to cool a small, well-insulated house. I'm fine with 100 amp service. I'd probably need to upgrade my service if I wanted an electric-heated hot tub/spa on the back deck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 06:05 PM
 
321 posts, read 329,873 times
Reputation: 863
Have you ever tripped your 100 amp breaker? Are you planning on adding any large power consuming devices any time soon? If not, 100 amp is probably good enough. Keep in mind that if you're having a problem with tripping the smaller breakers every once in a while, upgrading the panel won't help with that.

By the way, the cost difference isn't always negligible. If your main power feed and/or meter is only sized for 100 amps it could end up costing a lot of money to upgrade everything.

Cool refrigerator, by the way. That thing is awesome!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 07:15 PM
 
11,891 posts, read 14,355,740 times
Reputation: 7526
Most homes are OK with 100 amp service. Exceptions would be if you have electric heat, heavy power tool load, or the City or Village requires it by their codes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Frugal Living
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top