U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 06-18-2010, 05:44 PM

490 posts, read 1,119,608 times
Default How can I cover a chain link fence?

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Garden Forum, looking for ideas on some type of fast growing vine that could cover a chain link fence. There is very little sun in the area so it needs to grow with limited or no sun at all. I believe the area is well drained.

Thank you in advanced for any ideas.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-18-2010, 05:52 PM

1,783 posts, read 1,753,315 times
Hi. I covered a shady chain link fence with English Ivy once and it worked terrifically, except it started climbing up my neighbor's trees, which they did not mind, but it will kill the tree.

In my present home, I have it covering a pergola in my backyard and it is trimmed (weed-eater) several times a month and also cut back once a year and seems to be working just fine. No regrets.

Old 06-19-2010, 09:11 PM

25,209 posts, read 16,421,672 times
I was thinking english ivy too. don't spend money for it tho. Just advertise you need some and are willing to dig it yourself. you should have plenty of takers. 1st year it sleeps, 2nd creeps, 3rd it leaps. The ivy itself doesn't kill trees but shades out too much of trees and must be watched and cut before it gets too high for you and neighbor to handle. it can get very thick and in the south, especially Atlanta some folks use it for massive ground covers under huge magnolias where nothing else will grow .