U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-30-2012, 07:26 AM

102 posts, read 229,082 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am new to gardening. This is the first time I am experimenting with plants and they are doing decent. I have been growing some herbs and flowers and used miracle grow potting soil and some miracle grow feed for them.

Now I have planned to start some eggplant, cucumber, spinach, peppers etc and was thinking that it would be nice to do organic. The guy who sold me the eggplant suggested that I use mushroom compost and some fish emulsion as feed. When I googled mushroom compost, it said that it could produce a lot of heat and could kill the plants. IS that so ? If then, what other compost/potting mix can I use for the plants ? Can I just get an organic version of the miracle grow ?

And I will be doing all this only in pots in my small patio. I get fairly good sun for 6-8 hours. WHat other vegetables will be good to grow in small/big pots in a balcony.

All suggestions will be welcome. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-30-2012, 04:26 PM

102 posts, read 229,082 times
Some one, Any help pls ???

Old 04-30-2012, 05:33 PM

6,591 posts, read 19,597,810 times
the best potting mix ive fond thus far is rabbit poop, regular potting soil (no miracal grow ect) and peat moss, (ill be honest...its MOSTLY rabbit poop lol)

but miracle grow does make an "organic"
Miracle-Gro Organic Choice Potting Mix - Scotts Miracle-Gro

Old 04-30-2012, 07:52 PM

128 posts, read 730,726 times