U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-03-2013, 05:20 AM

2,967 posts, read 3,954,885 times

Advertisements

I have many acres and a lot of landscaping around the house. I also have an ongoing thistle problem in the landscaping and mulch that I have been fighting for several years. Thousands of them keep coming up and I am fed up.

This year I thought I gave everything a good dose of PREEN before anything had a chance to sprout, now a month later, once again, I have thousands of thistles coming up everywhere. I hate to use chemicals and try to do everything organic, but I used the PREEN as a last resort and it still did not work

They literally come up everywhere, in between all the rocks in my rock walls, tiny spaces between my porch and sandstone steps, mixed into t he center of all of my perrenials where they blend in and are hard to pull, ujnder every shrub, EVERYWHERE. I also have one large area of ivy groundcover and this week thousands of them are coming up all mixed into the ivy.

The problem is that I am in the county, the seeds float all over and come off of the local fields and are invasive floating onto my property.

I have decided to just hire guys to come weed the place because I am so fed up. I could literally spend every week of my life all spring through summer and fall doing nothing but digging up thistle sprouts.

Anyone have any ideas? Does PREEN not work on thistles, or did I lay it down too late? I feel like my yard has the Plague!

HELP!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-03-2013, 10:35 AM