U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-16-2013, 03:27 AM

33 posts, read 47,880 times

Advertisements

its september now. is it too late to grow these? i mean still a while before last frost. and i can move plants to indoor if need be. i'm thinking about growing these for myself and my cat.

anyone have experience with catnip? does the plant wither over winter but come back to life in spring? do you need to do anything to perserve it over winter like watering or something?

i'm kinda new to planting...
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-16-2013, 04:07 AM

8 posts, read 9,113 times
Catnip is easy to grow indoors as long as there is enough light. You must have a sunny window for this. I think it's not too late to grow them this September. Once you have a few of them growing outside, you can let them wither and die during frost. They will come back with a sweet vengeance during the warmer months.

You can also bring them inside your house near a window where there is enough light or at least maintain a 60 to 70 degree temperature. Cover them to keep them warmer.

Old 09-17-2013, 10:16 PM

mm..does each seed represent one individual plant? so even for backup, 3 seeds in one pot is plenty to reach germination phase, no?

how many seeds in a pot when starting out?

Old 09-18-2013, 12:29 PM

5,048 posts, read 8,402,431 times